Tommy Brown and the County Line Grass - Leaving This Town RANDM 011


Leaving This Town marks the ninth release from Tommy and his County Line Grass since they formed the group in 1991. It’s become a family affair over time, with son Jereme playing lead guitar – also in the Stanley style – and daughter Rachel providing a solid bass with just the right amount of movement. They are joined by Josh Runkel, who shares both lead singing and songwriting duties with Tommy, and Wayne Fyffe providing old timey fiddle.

All play and sing expertly, but what makes this record such a treat is the material, a mix of new and old songs, all perfectly suited for a ’70s-era bluegrass treatment. The album starts out with the keen crack of Brown’s arch top banjo on Dick Reinhart’s Fort Worth Jailhouse, spelling out what is to follow. Song after song, it’s unapologetically, hard core, straight up bluegrass borrowing heavily from the Stanley tradition." - John Lawless - Bluegrass Today


  1. Fort Worth Jailhouse
  2. Tonight I've Got Kentucky On My Mind
  3. Half Moon Bay
  4. Lonesome Without You
  5. I'll Never Take No For An Answer
  6. Leaving This Town Little Darlin'
  7. You're Gonna Miss Me
  8. A Dark Road Is A Hard Road To Travel
  9. No One Like You (LA)
  10. I'll Soon Be There
  11. Memories Of Home
  12. My Bible Tells Me
  13. Let Them Know I'm From Virginia